Teacher Center

Lackawanna Teacher Center

Welcome to the Lackawanna Teacher Center!

Who We Are:
The Lackawanna Teacher Center is one of over 130 Teacher Centers across New York State funded through a legislative grant under the auspices of the State Education Department. New York State Teacher Centers represent the largest professional learning community in New York State. Teacher Centers work with more than 685 public school districts and more than 1,000 non-public and charter schools.

New York State Teacher Centers deliver professional development to support quality teaching for more than 300,000 educators in their communities.

Policy Board:
The Lackawanna Teacher Resource and Training Program is operated by a policy board headed by a chairperson. By law, it must be made up of a majority of elementary and secondary teachers representative of teachers served by the center. The policy board is the heart of the center. This group communicates often with its constituents.

About Us:

  • Elaine Fredericks, Director
  • Bonnie Sawicki, Secretary
Hours of Operation:
  • When School is in Session - Starting Sept. 1
    Open - Tuesday, Wednesday & Thursday - 2-6 p.m.
    Closed - Monday & Friday

  • Summer Hours
    Open - Tuesday & Wednesday - 9 a.m. until noon

McKinley Administrative Building - Room 101
245 S. Shore Blvd., Lackawanna, NY 14218
Phone: (716) 821-5610, ext. 2301

Learning, Teaching, Collaborating.
The Mission of the Lackawanna Teacher Resource and Training Program is to establish a viable professional growth center where training, research and development can occur for individuals and groups by extending the district's current commitment to staff development.


Teacher Representatives:
  • Maria Tiberio - Policy Board Chair Person
  • Michelle Knavel - Lackawanna High School
  • Sara Zahn - Lackawanna Middle School
  • Steven Hebert - Lackawanna High School
  • Darrell Skelton - Lackawanna Middle School
  • Gregory Stachowski - Martin Road Elementary School
  • Lee Tojek - Martin Road Elementary School
  • Georgette Livziey - Truman Elementary School
  • Susan Palumbo - Librarian-Technology Liaison

District Representatives:

  • Angela McCaffrey - Curriculum, Instruction & Staff Development
  • Judy Faircloth Parent Community Outreach Coordinator

Business Representative:
  • Janis Evanisko - JR's Accounting & Tax Service

Higher Education Representative:
  • Kristen Kurtzworth - Keen Ed.D. - Canisius College

Non-Public Representative:

Parent Representative:
  • Michelle Gable
Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2020 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.